Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a Colonic Irrigation Upgrade to Massage Therapist License.
To add the Colonic Irrigation Upgrade to your Massage Therapist License, the requirements are as follows and can be found in Rule Chapter 64B7-31, F.A.C.:
In order to become eligible for certification in colonic irrigation you must either hold a valid Florida Massage Therapist License or have submitted an application for licensure as a massage therapist. The colonics certification will not be issued unless a license to practice massage therapy has been approved.
If currently licensed to practice massage therapy in Florida, the following is required:
- Successful completion of a course of study in colonics at a Florida board-approved massage therapy school, which is approved to offer colonics, or completion of a board approved colonic irrigation apprenticeship program.
- Completed application and fee for certification in colonics must be submitted to the board office.
- Passing results on the National Board for Colon Hydrotherapy (NBCHT) examination.
If NOT currently licensed to practice massage therapy in Florida, the following is required:
- Must be at least 18 years of age or have received a high school diploma or graduate equivalency diploma (GED).
- Must submit an application and fee for licensure as a massage therapist and certification in Colonic Irrigation.
- Completed a course of study at a Florida board-approved massage therapy school, which has an approved course of study in colonics or completed a board approved colonic irrigation apprenticeship program.
- Must pass the National Board for Colon Hydrotherapy (NBCHT) examination.
- Must have completed a 3-hour course in HIV/AIDS from a Florida board-approved massage therapy program or continuing education provider.
- Must have completed a 10-hour course of Florida Laws & rules for massage therapy from a Florida board-approved massage therapy program or continuing education provider.
- Applicant must submit application with the appropriate fees to the board at the following address: Department of Health Payment Management P.O. Box 6330 Tallahassee, FL 32399-6330
- Once all materials are submitted, an application specialist will review them. It may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information.
- After an application specialist has reviewed all documents and deemed the application complete, a letter of eligibility and application for the National Board for Colon Hydrotherapy (NBCHT) examination will be provided to the applicant.
- Once the board receives a passing NBCHT exam score, colonic irrigation authorization is issued within 2-3 working days.
Make checks of money orders payable to the “Department of Health.”
Application Fee – $50.00 (non-refundable)