icensed Massage Therapist by Examination - Checklist: I have included the \$155.00 fee. Applications submitted without fees will not be processed.
I am at least 18 years of age OR I have received a high school diploma OR graduate equivalency diploma (GED).
I have completed a 500-clock-hour (minimum) course of study In-State: At a board-approved massage therapy school, and a transcript or graduate list has been submitted by my school directly to the Board office, OR I have completed a board-approved apprenticeship in Florida.
Out-of-State (non-Florida): and I have also requested/sent the following: ☐ Official Transcript ☐ School Approval Document
Foreign Education: and my school is approved by the equivalent licensing authority in the country in which it was located. I have requested/sent the following: Official Transcript and supplemental documents – should be translated; you may need your documents evaluated by a credentialing company.
I have completed my mandatory continuing education: A ten (10) hour Florida Laws and Rules course
I have passed one of the following exams: National Certification Examination in Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (NCETMB); National Certification Examination in Therapeutic Massage (NCETM); National Exam for State Licensure (NESL); or Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx), administered by FSMTB. Scores must be sent directly to the Board from the testing center.
I have been fingerprinted by an approved Livescan provider. (Please visit www.flhealthsource.gov/background-screening for more information)
I have submitted a license verification for all health-related licenses held in other states.
Section 10 of my application is complete and accurate. I have submitted a self-explanation of my health history. A letter, from a licensed professional, has been sent <i>directly</i> to the board, which summarizes my diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis. (Must be current within the last year).
Section 5 of my application is complete and accurate. I have submitted a self-explanation of my disciplinary history. For each disciplinary action taken, I have submitted copies of the Administrative Complaint and Final Order.
Sections 6 and 7 of my application are complete and accurate. I have submitted a self-explanation of my criminal history. For each conviction, I have submitted arrest records, final disposition, and documents showing successful completion of sentencing.

Before you submit...

- Include the application fee with your application.
 Applications submitted without fees will not be processed.
- **Verify** your email address on page 1 of the application. If you answered "YES" to "I want to be notified by email," the Board office will communicate via email first.
- **Check** your application to be sure it is complete; answer all questions on the application truthfully and to the best of your ability.
- If you have not scheduled an exam, or have taken the MBLEx and did not have your scores reported to us, you will need to contact the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards:

FSMTB: **1**-866-962-3926 **1** http://www.fsmtb.org/

If you took the NCETM, NCETMB, or the NESL and have did not have your scores reported to us, you will need to contact the NCBTMB:

NCBTMB: **1-800-296-0664 (\$)** http://www.ncbtmb.org/

After you submit...

You may check your application status, make changes to your application, and direct inquiries to the Board office:

(850) 245-4161

www.floridasmassagetherapy.gov, www.flhealthsource.gov

MQA.MassageTherapy@flhealth.gov

Florida Board of Massage Therapy 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06 Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256

What is a(n)...?

Official Transcript: A transcript that is sent *directly* from your school. This transcript must arrive in a sealed envelope, and must show that you have completed a course of study that meets or exceeds the 500-clock hour requirement. Official transcripts must also include your date of enrollment and date of graduation.

School Approval Document: A document showing that your school is *licensed/approved* to operate in the state in which it resides; required if your school is out-of-state. This document is NOT an accrediting document, and should come from a state agency (Department of Education, Board of Higher Education, etc.). You may attach this to your application to expedite processing.

Self-Explanation: Correspondence that describes the circumstances surrounding disciplinary action/health history/criminal history. Should your application require Board review, the Board will read your self-explanation. *You may attach this to your application to expedite processing.*

Administrative Complaint / Final Order: Disciplinary documents which show what violations occurred concerning a license, and what actions were taken against the license by the agency/board/department that issued the license. *You may attach these to your application to expedite processing.*

Arrest Records / Final Disposition: Documents that are usually held by the Clerk of Courts. These documents show what happened during an arrest, and what the outcome of court proceedings concerning that arrest were. *You may attach these to your application to expedite processing.*

Completion of Sentencing Documents: Documents showing successful completion of any sentencing imposed in a *Final Disposition. You may attach these to your application to expedite processing.*