Changes to Chapter 480, Florida Statutes, Massage Therapy

Human Trafficking: House Bill 7049 (2012) relating to human trafficking was passed
and signed into law creating section 480.0535, Florida Statutes. Effective July 1, 2012 all
employees and owners/managers of massage establishments and any person
performing a massage in a massage establishment must present valid government
identification while in the establishment if “requested by a Department of Health
investigator or law enforcement officer.” This section also creates criminal penalties and
a severity ranking of the criminal offenses for failure to comply with the documentation
requirements.

Valid government identification, for the purpose of this section, is defined as one of the
following:

1. Avalid, unexpired driver’s license issued by any state territory or district of the
u.s,,

2. Avalid, unexpired identification card issued by a state, territory, or district of the

u.s,,

A valid, unexpired U.S. passport,

A naturalization certificate issued by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security,

A valid, unexpired alien registration receipt card (green card), or

A valid unexpired employment authorization card issued by the U.S.
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For a copy of these bills please visit the Florida Senate website at:
Ilwww .flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2012/7049

Continuing Education: House Bill 4163 (2012) relating to the HIV/AIDS continuing
education course requirement for massage therapists was passed and signed into law,
repealing section 456.034, Florida Statutes. Effective July 1, 2012 Licensed Massage
Therapists are no longer required to complete a 1-hour continuing education course on
HIV/AIDS prior to licensure renewal. Massage Therapists applying for an initial license in
Florida are still required to complete a 3-hour HIV/AIDS course prior to the issuing of the
Florida license.

For a copy of these bills please visit the Florida Senate website at:
Ilwww.flsenate.gov/Session/Bill/2012/4163.



